Restaurant Review : United Westends, Punjabi Bagh

DSC_0010

It is known by very less people that United Westends is basically a very new restaurant from the makers of legendary United Coffee House, CP. Yes, that same legendary place that your parents used to visit in their college days.

THE BACKDROP

 United Coffee house was established in the year 1942 (Before Indian Independence), That was the time when Delhi was on the verge of getting developed. This place was serving loads of popular politicians of that era as well as rich businessmen and artists. With the regular visitors counting whopping 1500 in a day this 175 seater restaurant had a lot to offer. Not even this, United Coffee House was also been featured in the National Geographic’s Lonely Planet Travel Guide.

The only idea to give you a little backdrop about UNITED COFFEE HOUSE is to what you can expect out of United Westends when it comes to Food & Beverage from this particular restaurant located in Punjabi Bagh by the makers of something that has been a legend on its own. Also, please make sure that the vision is not to let you make a perception that, the kind of hospitality that you may expect in United Coffee House, one must expect the same as if you will do this you may not be able to enjoy the moment that much, as United Westends is more focused on the local crowd and successfully able to target local market of Punjabi Bagh and the residents surrounding the same as compared to the Niche crowd who are their regular customers in CP (Connaught Place).

But somewhere, somehow keeping their back ground in mind you may definitely, even at the corner of your heart would think that the place would be serving good food at least up to your expectations.So do I had! So, I kick-started my culinary journey as soon as I reached the venue and my DSLR in my hand was the biggest proof for that.

AMBIANCE

DSC_0014

Talking about the ambiance, I would say that it was compact, simple yet classy keeping the standards of local Punjabi Bagh crowd in mind. A lot of usage of wood in the interiors and the furniture cannot be missed. But, the most beautiful this that attracted my eyeballs as soon as I entered was their BIG ROUND TABLE which could’ve easily accommodated 7 people in one go. Unfortunately we were only two in count so, could not get that table. The restaurant is divided in two sections, Ground and First Floor. The only disappointment that I had while we decided to sit downstairs was, if you have to use the washroom then you have to climb up to the first floor for the same and that too was not spacious but, good enough to do what you’re their for. Although proper hygiene was maintained throughout and had no issues at all for the same. So, all in all really felt comfortable when you get your table and you can now sit back, relax and enjoy their great playlist with couple of drinks. (Yes, they have got very good English classics playing in the background that will take you back to your 90s) So, thumbs up to the overall ambiance experience.

FOOD & DRINKS

DSC_0021

When we took our seats on our table we could see the flyers of some SPECIAL BEVERAGE PROMOTION/HAPPY HOURS deal in front of us. To which I was very happy to read it as there was not even the happy hour applicable for the liquor but, for the non alcoholic drinks like, coffee & lemonade The deal was simple, from 12 NOON TO 6 PM you get 1+1 on Espresso Drinks & Lemonade and when it comes for alcohol it is from 12 NOON TILL MIDNIGHT where, you get Fratelli Red & White by glass 1+1, Teachers 50 ml (2+1), Signature Cocktails by glass (2+1) Kingfisher Ultra Pint (2+1) which was very okay for me as a blogger as well as a normal random visitor.

DRINKS

These are the listed best 3 drinks for summers that are must try when you visit United Westends and out of these I also have selected East India Company Cocktail as my personal nominations for best cocktails in Delhi/NCR. (It was that much impressive)

DSC_0030
King Alphonso

* King Alphonso – Mostly Like a mango shake but actually not one of them as it was a bit lighter version of it you can say. It was not that much stuffed with the mango puree like taste but was subtle on its sweetness and is more than enough to calm down the summer heat inside you.

DSC_0028
Rose Sharbat with King Alphonso

* Rose Sharbat – As the name suggest, it was regular Rose Sharbat that you may get and expect in your household but sometimes, small things even leaves you in your childhood memory when the way you used to drink that chilled Roohafza or Rose Sharbat mixed in water with crushed ice but here in this case instead of water aerated drink (Maybe Soda) was used to make it more like a mocktail. Tasted Ultra refreshing.

DSC_0049
East India Company Cocktail

* East India Company Cocktail – This Cocktail, simply took my heart away. It was a very first time when I was having GREEN TEA BASED COCKTAIL! yes, I am correct! It’s a Green Tea based cocktail that is definitely a must try and a single serving is I guess more than 750ml (Just Guessing) as I enjoyed it for a very longer time. The beauty of this drink is the way it;s been made and presented so well in a wooden barrel shaped container which was coated with stainless steel from inside. Just to give you a bit of an idea about the ingredients; it was made up of Whisky, Vodka, Sugar, Green Tea with lime & Mint Syrup. The amazing part was that even after containing strong spirits like whisky & Vodka all I could taste was an mild and smooth effect of green tea in my mouth which was soothing my throat as well. A must try drink for everyone when you visit United Westends!

FOOD

DSC_0036
Assorted Veg Kebab Platter

* Assorted Veg Kebab Platter – Everyone is almost aware that I prefer Non-Vegetarian food when it comes to the food. I did not even ordered Vegetarian Platter but I an still not aware that why the heck I got that on my table but I agree that it was my mistake as I confused the captain which I later on tally with my companion sharing the same table. So, it was okay as main motive was to enjoy the time and trust me that the burst of flavors, softness of Cottage Cheese (Paneer) & the overall well done marination of the platter was very well done and made up very well for what was been ordered by mistake and I was very proud that I did that mistake. Please, I request all the vegetarians to not to forget doing the same mistake as you cant afford to miss this.

DSC_0043
Tandoori Wings

* Tandoori Wings – This was a bit different from the regular classic tandoori wings as it was a bit more juicy and was with a bit of glaze and chopped tomato on the top. was making it bit different from the regular one which was very good to taste and I am glad that finally the monotony of the tandoori wings was been broken.

DSC_0051
Chapli Kebabs

* Chapli Kebab : Chapli Kebabs are actually very flat as the name suggests, and if you read the history behind the original recipe you’ll find that the mutton mince was been beaten by Chappal aka leather slipper to make it flat hence the name chapli kebab was been made but this was unlikely like a cutlet and was heavy so, could not connect to the chapli but, the taste was exceptionally good.

DSC_0059
Chipotle Prawns

* Chipotle Prawns : This was something very subtle when it comes to the taste and certainly became one of my favorites.

DSC_0055
Fish Orley With Tartar Sauce

* Fish Orley With Tartar Sauce : This actually was not the normal fish orley as it has a very unique south Indian or I shall say coastal flavors attached to it. This came to me as a recommendation and I certainly decided to ask for only 2 pieces for the trial as I was a bit skeptical about it to be very true to you all but later on when I tasted it, trust me I asked for the full potion of it and finished all of it myself, without any help! Need more explanations?

DSC_0064
Pakhtoon-e-Tangri

* Pakhtoon-e-tangri – This, was a Premium wonderland! Just Imagine if I simply say that I am going to offer you Chicken Drumsticks stuffed with Mutton Mince! It was a pure heaven on earth like taste and definitely a dream come true for every non vegetarian. A must try dish out of their menu as if you wont then it’d be a sin!

MAINS

DSC_0070
Martabaan ka Meat

* Martabaan ka Meat : As the name suggest Martabaan ka Meat, Generally we used to have Aachaar (Pickles) in Martabaan (A ceramic vessel to store pickles that increase the shelf life of the pickle and contributes perfectly towards the authentic way of preservation). Similarly, This Meat was also very juicy, Succulent, Achaari and one of the tastiest things that I ever tasted as a mutton dish!

* Amritsari Gobhi Kulcha : Soft Bread and cooked exactly the way I want it to be cooked with my Martabaan ka Meat!

DESSERT

DSC_0074
Mithai Sampler

* Mithai Sampler : This was one of the best option to select when it comes to dessert as it contains three desserts in one palate and all of them were my favorites. Those three king’s were; Ghulab Jamun, Kulfi & Moong Dal Halwa. I mean that’s your punjabi ishtyle day been made an you need nothing else apart from that! Do You?

FINAL VERDICT

All in all I really loved the vibe of this place and the overall feel, food and the music is definitely worth visiting being a locale to Punjabi Bagh or anyways if you’re a foodie!

FINAL RATING

My final rating will be 4.5 STARS out of 5 Stars (Which is very good) and makes it a must visit place in Punjabi Bagh.

United Westends Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a comment